Student Equity and Achievement Committee

Welcome to the Student Equity and Achievement Committee (SEA)

Committee Charge: The Student Equity and Achievement Committee  is an Educational Progams, operational committee that will recommend and coordinate strategies that enhance student equity and student academic achievement. 

Reports to:  Executive Vice-President of Educational Programs

2nd and 4th Monday of each month, 1:00 to 2:30 pm
For 2022-23, meetings will be held from September 12, 2022 through May 8, 2023

SEA Application and Resources

Minutes 2022-2023
September 12, 2022
September 26, 2022
October 10, 2022

Archived Meeting Resources

Purpose: The purpose of this committee is to align institutional goals and priorities for enhancing student equity and achievement on campus; improve implementation of goals and objectives related to student equity and achievement; increase communication and coordination to leverage resources to have a greater impact on student equity and achievement; minimize duplication of efforts; coordinate the data management for outcomes assessment and evaluation of the college's efforts to achieve student equity and achievement; and provide seamless delivery of services that support student equity and achievement.  Ed Code 78222(a)1

Committee Membership
Committee membership structure pending changes for 2022-23

  1. Co-Chair, VP of Student Affairs - Paloma Arnold 
  2. Co-Chair, Academic Senate President or designee- Laurie Vasquez (DSPS & FRC)
  3. VP Appointments (2 Instructional Deans, 1 Student Services Dean)
     - Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Science -  Elizabeth Imhof
    -  Dean of Math, Sciences, Library, PE/Athletics - Jens-Uwe Kuhn
    -  Interim Dean, Student Affairs - Christina Llerena
  4. Academic Senate Appointments 
  5. Counseling Chair - Jennifer Hamilton
  6. Executive Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion - (vacant) and
    Coordinator, Equity, Diversity, and Cultural Competency - Roxane Byrne (one vote)
  7. Director, Enrollment and Retention, Vanessa Pelton
  8. CSEA designee from Student Support Services
     -Kristy Renteria, Student Success Coordinator
     -Sara Volle, Assessment/Placement Coordinator

     -Elizabeth Giles, Lead Transcript Analyst

     - TBD
  9. Vice President, School of Extended Learning (or designee), Jeanette Chian (Designee)
  10. Associated Student Government appointment - TBD

Committee Resources (non-voting):
Academic Senate Liaison, Benjamin Reyes
Institutional Assessment, Research and Planning representative, Z Reisz
Human Resources representative, TBD
Fiscal Services representatives: Interim Assistant Controller, Nicole Hubert, and Cheryl Brown

(Members joining from previous Student Equity Committee):
1. Co-Chair, Faculty - Brittanye Muschamp
2. Co-Chair, Coordinator of Equity, Diversity, and Cultural Competency - Roxane Byrne
3. Faculty Representatives:
     - Andrew Gil, Academic Counseling
     - Jennifer Maupin, Biological Sciences
     - Marc Bobro, Philosophy
4. CSEA Representatives:
     - Akil Hill, Senior Admissions & Records Technician
     - Chelsea Lancaster, Student Program Advisor EOPS/CARE/CalWORKS
     - Julio Martinez, Media Technician, Learning Resource Center
5. ALA Representatives:
     - (Vacant)
     - Maureen McRae Goldberg, Director of Financial Aid
6. Advisory Representatives
     - Elizabeth Imhof, Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
     - Margaret Prothero, Guided Pathways Faculty Coordinator
     - Christina Llerena, Director of EOPS
     - Kyle Rasmussen, Veterans Program Coordinator
     - Martha Swanson, Executive Director of Public Affairs & Communications
     - Z Reisz, Senior Director of Institutional Assessment, Research, and Planning
     - TBD, Academic Senate Liaison

SEA - SEC Consolidation Document (consolidation approved - on CPC March 1 minutes)